The Conservative Party

Almost all of the Conservatives who work for the Party do so on a voluntary basis. They run their local Associations and donate tens of thousands of hours of their time every year to help the Party. They campaign all year round, delivering leaflets and canvassing voters in their local area. Our volunteers are also the people who raise the money to run the Party across the country, through membership subscriptions and holding events in their local area.

Party Structure and Organisation          Conservative Party Logo


Each local Association corresponds to a parliamentary constituency. While Associations vary in size, almost all follow the same structure.

Windsor Conservative Association is overseen by a governing body, known as the Executive Council. This is made up of Officers, Honorary Members, Branch Representatives, a CWO Representative, the MP, the MEPs, the Agent, and any CCHQ Representatives who wish to attend. 

Officers are responsible for the day-to-day running of the Association and answer to the Executive Council.

The Officers for 2018/19 are:

  • President: Angela Knight CBE
  • Chairman: Cllr Samantha Rayner
  • Deputy Chairman Membership: Cllr Natasha Airey
  • Deputy Chairman Political: Cllr Christine Bateson
  • Treasurer: Cllr John Story
  • Fundraising Officer: Maria Hindmarsh
  • Campaigns Officer: Cllr Jack Rankin
  • Communications Officer: Sarah Rankin
  • Branches Officer: Cllr Michael Airey
  • Bracknell Officer: Cllr Ian Leake
  • IT Officer: Geoff Parkin
  • Patrons' Club Officer: Cllr Colin Rayner
  • Young Conservatives' Officer: Jordan Masters
  • Officer without Portfolio: JP Rangaswami

The Association has 2 members of staff, Margaret and Liz, who work in our office on 87 St Leonard's Road, Windsor, SL4 3BZ. 

If you would like to get in touch, please call 01753 678693 or email

Areas and Regions

For organisational purposes, the country is broken up into Regions, with each Region containing a number of Areas. Both Regions and Areas also have a similar structure to constituencies - namely Regional and Area Chairman, and Deputy Chairmen for Membership and Political.

The National Convention

The National Convention is effectively the parliament of the Voluntary Party.

It is comprised of all Association Chairs, officers from Areas and Regions as well as 42 representatives from Conservative Future and the Conservative Women's Organisation. The Convention meets twice a year – its Annual General Meeting is usually held at Spring Forum, with another meeting usually held at Party Conference. Its purpose is to receive the Annual Report, elect the Convention’s new officers and to set the Voluntary Party’s direction.

The most senior volunteers within the Conservative Party are the Officers of the National Convention; led by the Chairman, they represent the views of the Voluntary Party to the leadership of the main Party. The Chairman of the Convention is also a Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party. The President is the Chairman of the Party Conference and there are also three Vice Presidents. All of these five senior volunteers are elected at Spring Forum, and also sit on the main Board of the Party.

The Board

The Board is the ultimate decision-making body of the Conservative Party. It is responsible for all operational matters including; fundraising, membership and candidates. It is made up of representatives from each section of the Party - the voluntary, political and professional:

  • Rt Hon Brandon Lewis MP, Chairman of the Conservative Party
  • Rob Semple OBE, Deputy Chairman of the Board & Chairman of the National Convention
  • Sir Mick Davis, Chief Executive and Treasurer, Conservative Party
  • James Cleverly MP, Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party
  • Andrew Sharpe, President of the National Convention
  • Tom Spiller, Vice President of the National Convention
  • Pamela Hall, Vice President of the National Convention
  • James Pearson, Vice President of the National Convention
  • Alan Mabbutt OBE, Senior member of the professional staff of the Party
  • Cllr Rory Love, Chairman of the Conservative Councillors’ Association
  • Robert Forman MBE WS, Chairman, Scottish Conservative Party
  • Byron Davies, Chairman of the Welsh Conservatives
  • Ashley Fox MEP, Leader of the Conservatives in the European Parliament
  • Rt Hon Lord Hunt of Wirral MBE, Chairman of the Association of Conservative Peers
  • Sir Graham Brady MP, Chairman of the 1922 Committee
  • Charles Walker OBE MP, MP on the Board of the Conservative Party
  • Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP, MP on the Board of the Conservative Party
  • Stephen Phillips OBE, Secretary to the Board

The Conservative Foundation

The Conservative Foundation was launched in March 2009 to build an endowment fund to underpin the finances of our Party in the long term, and is asking supporters to leave the Foundation a gift in their wills. The capital raised by the Foundation is ring-fenced and protected, and so benefactors can take comfort that their contribution will remain forever for the benefit of the Party and future generations of Conservative supporters. The Foundation is currently supporting the Conservative Candidate Bursary Scheme, set up to financially support Conservative parliamentary candidates. This scheme is means-tested and supports candidates who otherwise could not afford to fund their campaigns. The scheme will make sure that financial means are not a barrier to standing for Parliament, meaning our Party can become more representative of the people that it serves.

Conservative Link Groups

The Conservative Party is also affiliated with several groups. For a full list of groups, please click here.